Half Life 2 - Gordon Freeman HEV Suit

mage26

So this is a costume that I've wanted to do for years and now I'm going to make it for San Diego Comic Con 2010. I really just want somewhere I can post my progress and ask for advice, so I'm posting here. This is my first build ever, so I know it's not perfect but I feel it's good enough for what I want. I've finished all the Pepakura and am currently resining and fiberglassing the pieces.

Let me know what you think! I'm looking forward to feedback and advice.

all-small.jpg

front-small.jpg

back-small.jpg

Epic! :D I should try making my own HEV suit.

Source engine files are such a pain in a butt to work with, so I know what it's like to take the MDLs to SMDs to X 3D format. lol

What are you going to use for an undersuit?

I was working on this last year, I got as far as having the boots, gloves, finished undersuit, the materials for the kevlar midsection, and half the pieces pepped, including one arm finished but unpainted. Then I gave up. Scaling the legs and chest became a complete nightmare. I made 10 thigh pieces and none of them fit right. Best of luck to you, I'd love to see the finished costume.

Epic! :D I should try making my own HEV suit.

Source engine files are such a pain in a butt to work with, so I know what it's like to take the MDLs to SMDs to X 3D format. lol

What are you going to use for an undersuit?

I tried working with the Source files and they are definitely a pain in the butt. Fortunately, I found files someone else had done on 405th. I'm not totally sure about the undersuit yet.

I was working on this last year, I got as far as having the boots, gloves, finished undersuit, the materials for the kevlar midsection, and half the pieces pepped, including one arm finished but unpainted. Then I gave up. Scaling the legs and chest became a complete nightmare. I made 10 thigh pieces and none of them fit right. Best of luck to you, I'd love to see the finished costume.