The Henry Rifle - Pics up

PHArchivist

Master Member
Last edited:
Re: The Henry Rifle

Well you could go this route or get a real Henry cheap and have converted to blank fire.Hope this helps

Before I clicked on the links, I thought you were getting a real Henry rifle. What do they go for now? Ungodly high prices, I'm assuming?

As a kid, I remember the cowboy movies where they loaded a Henry rifle and loaded it through the front tube. I always though that was cool.

Yeah, real Henry rifles go for a lot more than $200ish, as the replica is priced.

I've had some experience with these, and as wall hangers and occasional goof around with guns, they are great. I don't think you will be disappointed at all.

You're going all out on the silverado collection, huh?

:)

Love that flick!

I'm fairly sure my father has one, but if he does, it's an original. Either that, or it's a Mississippi Rifle. I'll ask tomorrow. Regardless, he'll have good info on both originals and repros.

Just make sure you get the caliber, etc right. My husband and several inlaws have done Civil War reenactments, and I know that a lot of the Henry rifles in the catalog had a very similar body, but the wrong specs for what they needed. I used to have a catalog laying around here, but no idea where it is at the moment. When I worked at Gander Mtn, they were able to order most models in for you. I'm sure Bass Pro, as their competetor. would be able to do the same.

Yup! May have to get two! ;)

Danny Glover carried a winchester yellow boy rifle with the front stock removed, not an actual Henry rifle. His Dad carried a Henry though. My guess is they did that because of the bullet follower. Danny Glover probably had problems with it pinching his hand.

You can pick up replica yellow boy rifles too, if you're going for extreme accuracy.