Beginner Question on Stormtrooper Armor

Egon

Sr Member
Hey everyone!

I'm looking for a little help. I got my tax refund and I'm looking to buy my first real stormtrooper helmet. THIS IS NOT A WHERE TO BUY!

I am looking at a reputable dealer, but I'm just not sure what the process is like since I've never done this before.

Could any of you PM (not sure if any info should be public...or even if i should be asking in the forum...)me with a little info on what I should expect and how the process goes, also anything that should send up some flags?

Thanks!

Do your research...

GO to http://www.whitearmor.net

In fact there are a few nice helmets for sale in their personal sales section... http://forum.whitearmor.net/index.php?showforum=11

DON'T buy from Ebay if you want good quality non-recast stuff. That's my best advice!

And you have to ask yourself... what are you looking for exactly? 100% screen accurate? A close too accurate trooping bucket?

Because the materials different helmets are made from may sway your descision...

If you are going for as close to screen used as you can currently get... probably a TE on HDPE is as close as is available at the moment. But like the originals... paint doesnt want to stick to HDPE and eventually will crack and chip JUST like the originals.

Any other REALLY crisp sharp copies are probably going to be UBER thin styrene, which for trooping... isn't the best. Drop once and it's broken.

Now you could go with an AP if you can find one... pretty sharp for a 3rd gen casting made in thick durable ABS. probably the best average of accurate and trooping durability

Now thats just MY opinion on a few of the different makes you may find floating around for sale. Different people have differing opinions on the makers, materials, lineage etc.