My take on the Rankin & Bass Heat Miser! Oompa Loompa Pics Added!

I'm Mr. Heat Miser, I'm Mister Sun...

Barry introduced me to these vinyl figures about 2 years ago and since then, we have produced a series from the Wizard of Oz characters, an Oompa Loompa from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory and a multitude of various commission work pieces at the request of others.

Here are the progress pix that Barry took for me...

I didn't have a whole lot of reference to go by other than a pic that I googled and watching the movie. I was surprisingly pleased with how it turned out. For the face, I used super sculpey. In doing his outfit, it was pretty straight forward, however, what I found most challenging was the hair. I bought fake fur at a Hobby Lobby here in Atlanta. This is where the fun began..I had to painstakingly cut the fur off of the backing and hand apply it to the head...gluing a small section at a time. I have never done this before so, I was a little intimidated. I started to get the hang of it half- way through the head. For the facial details, it was a combination of pastel chalk and airbrush. Now I can't wait to start on a Cold Miser!

Last edited:
Re: My take on the Rankin & Bass Heat Miser!

That's wonderful! Those two were always my favorites every Christmas, well, after Rudolf and Frosty I suppose--but I always loved that musical number. I look forward to seeing more of your work :)

Dave

FB, thank you for the comment. That is a great gun drawing as your avatar! Dave, sounds like we have a lot in common. I love all the old Christmas movies! I hate that I have grown up in the aspect that I used to believe that those characters were real. Now when I watch them I see them as they are...you know what I mean?

Thanks again,

Karey

My soon-to-be wife now a member on the RPF! A guy couldn't ask for much more! :)

I love how that Heat Miser came out! You are one talented little lady... But I'm sure I'm a little bias. :love

-B89! :love