Moon Lander LEM

Sebbo

My first attempt at building a replica model of the LEM.
It is based on the Revell model-kit and is not in any way "customized" by me.
This is my first attempt at building a model seriously, my earlier models are more of the "build-first-maybe-paint-later" :p

Hope you like it and find my work well made :)

Very nice. I have been having the urge to scratch build a 1/32 scale to go along with the CM model. Someone please talk me out of it!! :lol

I loves me some LEM! :)

That's a great build Sebbo! You made it look just like the box art. That's a great approach! I think the old Revell, Monogram etc. Apollo models, since they are based on preliminary designs anyway, should probably be built to resemble "what they really are", which basically means to resemble the contractors' desk models and concept artwork from the early Sixties.

kt12211lg.jpg

"Accurate Models" (aka Custom Replicas) had announced a 1/32 LM replica some years ago, and it sounded fantastic, but so far I don't think they ever completed it... the site hasn't been updated in a couple years. :unsure

lmleg1.jpg

Japanese site showing many of the Apollo kits that have been done over the years

http://apollomaniacs.web.infoseek.co.jp/apollo/modele.htm

Your build of the LM is great! It's nice to see the rare real space subject around here.

Custom Replicas still plans on releasing the LM kit , as far as I know. They took a detour and re-released their 1/20th F-1 engine, which is fantastic too.

-John

www.apollosaturn.com

Hey all. Tnx for all the nice feedback :)
The stickers is coming on right this second, pictures will be up in some hours when the camera is ready :p

I really like the Apollo program models and are looking for a better model of the LEM, I think airfix has one that is in 1/32 scale.

//Sebbe

An Airfix 1/32 LM would be huge news.. but I haven't heard anything about it. I know they have a 1/72 kit.