Has anyone built a replica DSKY from the Apollo Guidance Computer? >>

tim

Sr Member
I was re-watching Apollo 13 last night and thought that this might be a cool movie (and historical) replica. A quick form search found no prior discussions.

ArtistDSKY.jpg

Yes, thought about it, No, never did build it. Still would be a great project and there are some really good shots of a reproduction in the HBO series "From Earth to the Moon" in multiple episodes.

As a spacecraft GNC engineer, I would love one of these! There are plans on the www to make a working replica:

http://agcreplica.outel.org/
I saw that the other day. It's pretty insane.

This would be a great project, but I don't really know where to start. There'd need to be some metalwork done if one wants to use the same components and materials as the real deals. The display could be achieved with some screen-printing on plastic sheeting. I can probably source "close enough" seven-segment LED displays as well.

Any other thoughts?

Funny you should mention that. I've just finished enlarging the Apollo Command Module main control panel to 1/1 scale. :love

It's gonna be a bear of a project........if I ever get it started!!!!!

Funny you should mention that. I've just finished enlarging the Apollo Command Module main control panel to 1/1 scale. :love

It's gonna be a bear of a project........if I ever get it started!!!!!
Pics! Pics! ;)

Yeah, I'm only talking about the DSKY interface panel, and not the whole she-bang...otherwise I'd be finishing off a Saturn V about 25 years from now. :lol

In some ways, this would be easier than replicating movie prop, as detailed mechanical drawings and schematics exist...somewhere.

Not trying to hijack this thread: I thought I'd post a few pictures I took of tools, used during the Apollo missions, at Kennedy Space Center a few weeks ago. They're consistent with the Apollo theme so this is my contribution. :)

RCA Television Camera
Lunar Scoop & Sample Scale