My gb_dan Ecto Goggles build up thread and tutorial

jt001

Sr Member
I got my goggles and I am rushing to get them done for a small con this weekend! I am trying to document as much as possible. So far it's taken me a few hours to get them done. Half was done last night (cleaning sanding, etc) and the next day was for painting. I could have been done with them today but will wait until tomorrow morning. Most of the time was removing the excess flash. Besides that, there is not much more to be done, other than applying some primer and paint!

The lenses were already painted, and the straps had the buttons already attached. Everything was nicely packaged and very well protected. Kudos to Dan!

Well, I decided to get OD for the goggles. I went to Home Depot to no avail, so I went to a Hobby Store and got some Tamiya OD paint. Keep in mind that I am a completely newbie with the airbrush. I've only used it once or twice many years ago... so I sat down, watched a million airbrushing techniques/training videos on Youtube and decided to give it a try again. I am happy to say that it came out real nice! I wanted to mix the OD with a little white, but realized that I didn't have any, so I went full OD green.

I gotta admit... I was having so much fun with the airbrush that I decided to also paint the knobs, and fix some over weathering I did to my trap. If you haven't tried it, just go and get yourself one. It's awesome! I just don't think I'll be back to rattle cans ever, well, unless is a big project! Oh, not to mention that airbrush paints dry FAST! When I weathered my trap I think I went a little overboard with the weathering, and wasn't completely happy with the result. A few seconds latter with the airbrush and I was happy again with my trap! I'll still add some weathering, but will go a little less aggressive. There was no way I could had fixed those spots on my trap with a normal spray paint can. Time to go back to Home Depot and return that Hunter Green rattle can!