Four foot X-wing work in progress(photo heavy)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyonisis

Hello,fellow modelers. This is my first attempt at recreating the four foot X-wing fighter from Return of the Jedi. I originally posted this
on another forum,but two of the other members (who'll remain nameless,but not blameless) there made it an unbearable,and very unwelcome experience
(to say the least) for me to stay any longer,so I decided to share it here instead.
I was going to wait until I had more progress on this,but I decided that now is the time to post it publicly. I'm comfortable enough
with what I've done so far to share this with other forums.
I started this months ago back in May,but family problems,and other unforseen financial difficulties brought this project to a screaming halt!
I also had problems with the dimensions,and correct proportion of this fitting with known model kits,so I had another member of that forum
who was going to the exibit in Australia where it was to be shown,measure it for me. Of course,I was off by eight inches from the original incorrect specs
that I got from a fan based website.
I'm going to have him cast this for me instead of the guy that I was originally going to have cast it.

I have already spent over $130.00 for the few raw materials I have,and some of it I can't use from the first version,but there is a learning curve
here. Needless to say,I had to start over! This is the new version. I have spent hundreds of hours pouring over reference photos of this from

www.fantasticplastic.com ,and www.publicfotki.com to ensure that the parts that I'm using are correct,and determining what's a paint mark,
and what's a small part. I have also searched all over for the parts,and materials that I need for this build to be the correct size,and
dimensions. This has taken me a month to machine a couple of the parts with a router,and cutting the rest of the otherparts by hand with a Dremel Moto-tool,and