Need help with getting metal finish on wood

Johnlep

Hi. I was planning on making a set of armor out of wood. Does anyone know how to make the wood come out looking like metal when painted? I don't want to leave the grain there, just a flat finish that resembles painted metal. The first thing that came to mind was to coat it with something like Bondo. I'm not entirely sure if this will work as I've never used the stuff before. If it is the right thing to use, I don't know what type. Any ideas on what to do?

What type of metal??

Rusty, chrome, galvanized, aluminum?? There are many finished to choose from.

Having some of the paint chip on the corners and have some of the metal surface show underneath is probably the easiest way.

FB

Hi. I was planning on making a set of armor out of wood. Does anyone know how to make the wood come out looking like metal when painted? I don't want to leave the grain there, just a flat finish that resembles painted metal. The first thing that came to mind was to coat it with something like Bondo. I'm not entirely sure if this will work as I've never used the stuff before. If it is the right thing to use, I don't know what type. Any ideas on what to do?

Not really a metallic finish. Just a somewhat shiny finish like when you spray paint metal. I believe I used both gloss and flat paint on matte objects and metal ones. The look is different.

Mostly though, I don't want the grain of the wood to show once I've painted. I just want it to look like I painted on a metal surface.

I would go ahead and use the Bondo Auto-body filler to fill the cracks, etc. and just sand it down. You said you never used it before so I will start with the basics.