Halo 3 Gravity Hammer Project - 56k Killer

DogWizard

Since I'm new to the RPF I thought that it's about time I pull the sheet off my latest project. I’ve been working on this for a while now but recently I’ve been able to spend more time on it and it’s really starting to come along. It’s a scratch-built Gravity Hammer from Halo 3. It’s made entirely of MDF and Apoxie-Sculpt.

It will end up being a bit smaller than the WETA version but I wanted something that someone could actually cosplay with. I tried to get everything as accurate as possible (working only by eye). The detailing is based primarily on screenshots but I did adopt some features from the Hammer from the “Legendary” Brute Statue.

So what do you think?

Main Body:
IMG_0234.jpg

Rear Blade:
IMG_0222.jpg

Coming Together:
IMG_0273.jpg

IMG_0255.jpg

Clearcoat:
IMG_0296.jpg

IMG_0300.jpg

I am currently doing the final finish sanding and applying the final primer coats in preparation for clear-coating everything. I’m also working on the shaft details but nothing worth posting pics of yet.

IMG_0309.jpg

IMG_0310.jpg

IMG_0314.jpg

And some molds and test casts of the smaller pieces:

IMG_0319.jpg

What I've learned so far about mold-making/casting:
- Don't add too much coloring tint to the resin - you really aren't going to get "black"...
- Good lord, mix for all you are worth - when you think you are done, mix some more...
- release agents are your friend...

The mold for the front "impact teeth" is great - really happy with it. I'm re-making the mold for the rear "nozzle" as I wasn't happy with the way it came out. It is servicable but I'm really shooting for as close to perfect as I can get...

More details and Pictures over at my progress thread at the 405th...

http://405th.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=16881

More progress updates to come...Thanks!

Last edited:
Re: Halo 3 Gravity Hammer Project