Gears of War - Locust Hammerburst - COMPLETE NOW ON DISPLAY!!!!!

G17RDY

Sr Member
24/10/2011 - Update - Added Locust Knife, more Gears of War 3 goodies to come - Working on a new office prop room display right now!

c1fbe2d5.jpg

ac1ed3f3.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Original Post:

Hello,

Well after a year, i have finally finished my Gears of War Locust Hammerburst.

I thought i deserved to open up a new thread after all that hard work, to make it easier to see the finished result.

Its my very first attempt to build and paint my own prop, and i am very pleased at the result. It has been a hard road, but well worth it.

Some of you may of viewed my WIP thread:
http://www.therpf.com/showthread.php?t=35877

So it's done, let me know what you think, i do enjoy reading comments, it spurs me on, so please post your thoughts.

Well without further ado, here she is.......

HammerburstComplete2.jpg

HammerburstComplete1.jpg

HammerburstComplete3.jpg

Last edited:
Re: Gears of War - Locust Hammerburst - Complete at last!!!!

Tottally badass!:cool

(And don't worry I received the PM with your directions for that thing I'm doing for you... I'm just painfully slow to finish it due to my job...)

Really, really nice! The worn-off paint weathering is a very good start too. Looks very realistic. Can I suggest a couple minor, polish items?

- I'd add another layer of weathering for rust. Do a wash using some browns and consider using flour and water paste, or spackle, patted on for a rust texture, let dry, then dab paint in dark rust tones
- add a raised Locust cross on the barrel
- the bottom half of the gun looks like it doesn't have any weathering. Maybe it's the flash, but if you're weathering it, it should be apparent in photos.
- The grip wrap is too bulky, wide, and unweathered

Great job!!

hammerburst.jpg