Super Sculpey or Super Sculpey FIRM?

JOATRASH FX

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hey gang,

Need a piece of advice from you sculpting pros. I'm about to order some Super Sculpey to try my hand at sculpting armor for batman's new suit in The Dark Knight.

My question is if it's worth getting the newer FIRM type of Super Sculpey for doing "hard" armor-type projects? (I'll cost me maybe 25% more.) Is it easier to work with doing such pieces?

I am a sculpting novice... having mainly done organic stuff before... monster masks and such... and have not been very discriminating in which types of clay I have used. Since I'm going to try and make this nice and sharp I want to be a little more thorough. I'll be doing (at least the first) pieces on a standing half-mannequin.

(Mods: I put this in the prop forum instead of costuming since it'll reach the eyes of a lot more knowledgeable sculpters.)

Cheers guys!

For larger things and where it needs to keep it's shape easier while working on it I'd recommend the FIRM, as the regular is just soft and too easy to mess up.

Also... where are you buying from? Last I checked both regular and firm cost the same.

Ah... need to read before replying. Well... for full size I would probably not use sculpey at all...

Check out the IRON MAN Armor thread for tips on what to use.
Sculpey is better to use if you are going to make a statue (small one ) of batman, because you need to fit the parts in a owen to harden it.

/Conny

I'll be sculpting 1:1 for a full suit/costume. Will be getting it locally. At most places it DOES indeed cost about the same but I found a place that has a great discount on the regular if you but lots... but really, I WILL go with the better option even if it costs more cause I really want to minimize the headache with this project, haha. (Before I've just gone with the cheapest non-sulfur-based option.)