Crayven Marine build from Ground Control

TheSpaceMongol

Hello!

I'm new here but I've been reading the forums for some time so now that I started a costume project myself I thought I should post a thread here to contribute- now I'm no expert in what comes to making foam costumes since this is the very first I've made but I still think there's some interesting points to share for a few reasons: I don't have a lot of cash to throw at this project, so there might be tips and tricks for others in a similar situation. Second, the franchise from which this costume is from is pretty obscure and a bit old at this point. I've not found a thread mentioning this game here even once and no surprise there since it's an old RTS game.

Without further ado let's get to the build then!

So what I'm making is an armor set for a Crayven Rifle Infantry soldier, or a Crayven Marine from the game series Ground Control- one of my all-time favourite games. This is what they look like:

Marine ref 1.jpeg

Marine ref 2.jpg

Cool, eh?

This guy was featured in a lot of the promotional art for the game back in the day as well as all the box arts, CD covers, manuals etc. So there is some reference material to be found out there. I still have the original manual and game box which has a better pic on it than most you might find on the internet these days. That said the stuff I have isn't too great and the promo pics from the internet are from the age when the standard screen resolution was 1024 x 800 so most of the refs I've found are... let's just say you need to zoom in and squint a lot and even then there's room for interpretation as to what the details actually look like. The original 3D model is a bit low-poly when you compare to todays games as well so there's really a lot of room to maneuver here and use your imagination when deciding on some of the minor details since they will also be necessary to make this look good.

This is what I've got done so far:

IMG_20170523_121617.jpg