Doctor Doom Costume WIP (first post on RPF)

Peryton

Hey everyone!

So I am building a Doctor Doom costume for my boyfriend. So far I've 3D printed the mask and its still in the works (needs voice modulator, a way to wear it, and a clear coat)
I'm fairly new to the costume world. I've never shown anyone my work online. So here is the progress pics of the mask:
IMAG0287.jpgIMAG0290.jpgIMAG0291.jpgIMAG0293.jpgIMAG0294.jpg

I got the file from Thingiverse here: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:886812

Many thanks to the maker of this file, its magnificent!

The list goes on to what I need to do next. Here is why I need help.

QUESTION:

What pattern should I use for the cloak? I'm having trouble finding one that works. And how do I mold the hood to have that iconic look?
REFERENCE PICS:
doctordoom.gif

I would like it to have a cowl/hood but I'm lost at how to accomplish this.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Peryton

When I did Doom, I used a two layer hood and cloak. The added weight and stiffness of the seams allowed the hood to maintain a pretty natural drape. We used a patch of velcro on the very top of the helmet and one in the hood to hold it in place.

Something to remember is that when you attach the cloak, make sure there are attachment points on the front of the chest and at the base of the neck in the back. If you don't support the weight of the cloak in the center of the back it will try to pull the hood down and make it lose shape. It will also be an actual "pain in the neck"!

When I did Doom, I used a two layer hood and cloak. The added weight and stiffness of the seams allowed the hood to maintain a pretty natural drape. We used a patch of velcro on the very top of the helmet and one in the hood to hold it in place.