First Replica Build: Tracer Pulse Pistol (Overwatch) (In Progress)

jihanki

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum as a member, but I've been benefitting from this community's knowledge for a while, so thank you!

I wanted to share my progress on the Tracer Pulse Pistol I've been working on for a few months in my spare time. I've been documenting the process pretty thoroughly in the hopes that someone is working on a similar project and can benefit from my successes and failures.

I'm pushing to make this is detailed as I can, and try techniques I've never tried before. My favorite aspect of this project so far has been hunting for existing hardware that matches the reference material and incorporating it into the design. It's a really fun and challenging constraint that I hope adds to the final product. I'm also trying to be as respectful as possible to parts that I interpret as "independent", so parts that would be manufactured as a separate component until final assembly (so no combining parts for casting).

Anyways, here's my progress so far!

tracer_overwatch.0.0.jpgtracer_4.PNG
tumblr_onr3fy3Y8I1w9b4kto2_1280.pngtumblr_onr3fy3Y8I1w9b4kto3_1280.png
2017-02-19 16.15.48.jpg
build.gif
tumblr_inline_onr5tydLAM1ty00tz_540.pngtumblr_inline_onr5oeE4Qz1ty00tz_540.jpgtumblr_inline_onr60d9a8Q1ty00tz_1280-1.jpg
tumblr_inline_onr5cruVCp1ty00tz_1280.jpgtumblr_inline_onr5cqkvqt1ty00tz_540.jpgIMG_20170401_180354.jpg
2017-02-19 16.16.40.jpgtumblr_inline_onrbd9AKev1ty00tz_540.jpgIMG_20170327_210341.jpg
IMG_20170401_220518.jpgIMG_20170402_195340.jpg3679820836458161712-account_id=1.jpg

I go into a lot more detail on the Tumblr page I made for this project: https://pulsepistolproject.tumblr.com/
From now on I'll add to this post with updates (hopefully that's an appropriate way to do this).

I'm very close to wrapping up the mold-making process, and then I can move on to casting and painting. If anyone has suggestions or improvements I would love to hear from you.