3D Printing for Cosplay / Props

Maximushaydos

Hey all!
I have recently got into the world of 3D printing and I am loving every minute of it. What I don't see a lot of on the site (been a while since I have been on to be honest) is talk about the medium, so I thought why not start one!

So as I am beginning to teach myself modeling I thought why not open up the lines of communication for all levels of skill bases. Anything 3D print related feel free to add in this thread,

How hard is mining weapons from a game such as WOW and then turning them into print ready .STL's? Something that I would like to achieve when I am up to date with modeling.

Feel free to show us your current modeling projects or prints as well!

Maximus

My brother and I bought a 3D printer a while back, it's a Wanhao Duplicator i3 clone. Pretty good printer.

I haven't started making props but we enjoy mucking around with it. I'm a mechanical engineer and have been mucking around in 3D since I was a kid so modelling isn't too hard, however finding good software is! FreeCAD is pretty good but not very intuitive. I don't think it can create assemblies which is a bit annoying - but it's free.

I'm curious about mining files from gaming - especially the titles I grew up playing.

I too just purchased a 3D printer and am learning modeling. The printer is a delta style named Hatchbox. I picked this up from Amazon for a couple of clicks and it's at the front door. Yes, that simple. I plugged it in and it worked on the first try. I was amazed! 2017.01.box.JPG I also don't know why this pic is on side. sorry, it wasn't when I selected it.

The problem was my drawing skills. I began with Google Sketchup, and felt it wasn't best for 3D printing, but I did manage to get this done:

P1120227.jpg

Sketchup has cause to many issues, and I am no viewing youtube instruction videos for Autodesk123. Stay tuned for results.