Another Ding-Dang PKD

veektohr

Sr Member
I've had this on the back-burner for a bit, but finally decided to jump in and start getting my hands dirty. I built a PFC version of Deckard's gun last year out of a CAW MULE Charter Arms replica and some Tomenosuke bits. Turned out pretty cool! But the thirst remained for a live-fire.

So I got these:

iz3daBJ.jpg

And started thinking about what my build would look like. I want the whole thing to be blued. With grips from smoked acrylic. This was an early design I toyed with.

zjdF6mK.gif

I think in the end I will go for a more traditional shape & checkering pattern, but I love the smoked acrylic as an alternative to the amber.

But then I stalled out! Milling into the Steyr was just so intimidating... until today!

y86dQiG.jpg

kunab7g.jpg

lAR7wg7.jpg

iHk9oLY.jpg

Not bad for a few hours work! I still need to mill out the clearance for the cylinder, but for a total noob when it comes to this kind of stuff I think I did alright.

I used carbide end-mills, and took shallow cuts. Honestly, I was expecting total abject disaster because that's usually how these things go for me, so I'm calling this a victory for now :)

I'll be out of town all next week, but hopefully when I come back I'll finish this up and then try to build some momentum back up on this project!

Man you are really teasing me to get the bulldog!!

Awesome work so far bro!!

Did you do build thread for the other one you finished?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

So I was mindin' my own business just finishing up the cuts on this receiver when disaster struck.

smb1XVO.jpg

It. Just. Cracked. Tore in slow motion, like paper. If I had some advice to give past self, I would say "hey dummy, make these cuts before you hog out the receiver and turn this thing into a little delicate, yet INTEGRAL, leaf." Then I'd slap myself. Then I'd say "Hey, but if you ignore me and screw it up anyway here's some silver-solder."

6d6JRMy.jpg

TUA54nV.jpg