Anyone recommend a decent cheap airbrush & comp.?

The Schlitzie

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hey guys, my crappy airbrush died on me and I was looking to upgrade to something a bit better. I was using a little tabletop makeup/cake decorating airbrush (true story!) and I'm amazed that it worked to begin with but it's time for me to get a real one now, lol. It only cost I think $50 for the whole setup but I couldn't really airbrush any detail. I'm looking for a cheap double action airbrush, gravity fed and a small compressor combo.. I am still a beginner so i wouldn't need anything special and I probably wouldn't be able to tell the difference anyways with my very limited experience.

Does anyone have any recommendations for a beginner with a tight budget ($100-150) ?

Iwata is my favorite, but there are many good airbrush brands. (Whatever you do, don't buy an Aztec) If you need a compressor, too, you should really spend more than a hundred bucks. Most cheap hobby compressors are junk and will simply burn up on you. If you can, get one with a built in tank, to keep air pressure steady. (It also helps prevent overheating) A great place to shop online is http://www.tcpglobal.com. You could find a whole useable kit for your price, but I would highly recommend spending twice that. If you have to go cheap, go cheap on the brush. You will likely booger it up learning to clean it properly, anyway. In an event, it won't be your last airbrush. But a good compressor should last you a long time.

Last edited by a moderator:
Paasche H Series Single action. It's good enough for ILM model makers, it's good enough for anything you're going to do with it.
It's also the airbrush Adam Savage recommends
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBHQ7lQGOf0
(go to 26:17 in this video and hear it from the man himself)

All metal. Easy to clean. Easy to care for. I own 3.
Get all 3 tips (fine, medium and large) and go.
You can get amazing control, and amazing detail from it.