Smallville Ship 1/6 Scale - Update 8/17

thatguyno1

This is my first attempt at replica prop modeling AND posting its progress on any forum anywhere so here goes. Below is the start of my model. In fact it is currently almost finished and in the painting stages right now, and I'm retouching the imperfections in the surfaces. This is just a teaser. I will post photos in the near future of various stages of completion. This piece is 8" long and 6" diameter at the widest point. Everything else was based on this piece.

P7170139c.jpg

Thanks to Wackychimp for hosting the webpage for the photos.

A lot of measuring and cutting later and:

P7170150a.JPG

Bottom view before glueing trim and side braces.

P8020001a.JPG

Adding the trim pieces to the top, glueing the front wedge and back spoiler in place.

P8060017a.JPG

The base coat of paint. Silver and Magnesium to follow this week. This is the "Stealth" version
icon_smile.gif

P8100025b.JPG

Here's the silver version. Beginning to look more look more like the actual ship. Bottom View:

P8150037a.JPG

And the top view - laying on its side like most of the Smallville scenes:

P8150038a.JPG

Don't know if you noticed but the schematic drawings are underneath the ship. You can see portions of them. The Magnesium paint will be the final color then sealer and she will be done. Will have a little surprise in the final version. Stay tuned.

Here is the Magnesium paint job with the ship mounted on the stand I designed to hold the ship and the full size replica keys from other board members.

P8170041b.JPG