First Mask Sculpt

MissModeler

Hello everyone!

I thought I had some good progress made on my first mask sculpt so I thought I would post it up here and get some feedback. As I've mentioned in my welcome post, I'm mainly a 3D creature modeler so I'm teaching myself how to do traditional special effects makeup and prosthetics. So this is just a half mask for my first time so I can learn the techniques and have room to mess up and still have molding and casting materials left over to save on costs.

I have all the main shapes in as well as the larger cuts finished, but what I find I'm having issues with is figuring out a good way to create wrinkles and skin texture in the Monster Clay. What I have now seems a little too random for my liking so I'm open to hearing some techniques with that.

1.jpg2.jpg

I just recently finished a mask, modeled in monster clay, this is a pic with the some skin details, hopefully it will help you. For the "pores" I found that using a coarse sandpaper wrapped in a plastic bag to smooth a bit the impression works great!
redskull_skindetail.jpg

"wrapped in a plastic bag"

If you give that a workaround you might get to one of the techniches used to create skin wrnkles, pores etc...

Work with a film plastic over the sculpt with your metal (or wood ) tools, with short chip brushes over your wrinkles to smooth out a little. This helps to create cleaner twrinkles.
Cat brushes or similar in a criss cross motion work great for creating the subtle skin texture (without the plastic film obviously).
Over that you can use talc with a hard brush to smooth out your texture.
IPA alcohol also smooths the clay down, but probably too much for subtle textures, talc works great for that.

These are tips, if you play around alittle with theese concepts I´m sure youll get results, with some imagination.