Mark 46 build 3D print

TKCC71

Well figured I would start a new thread here and share the journey on this build.

I'm new to 3D printing and pretty much learning as I go. I had recently purchased some really nice quality files for the new Mark 46 (**Files not shareable per the terms and conditions**) and just received my Robo 3DR1+ printer. I also purchased Simplify3D but haven't printed with that slicer as of yet.

I figure I would share the first print and will be looking forward to some printing tips from the community here as I go along.

This print unfortunately took almost 2 days due to my limited 3D printing knowledge, but hopefully as this build goes along it will get better and faster. I printed this in high quality with the Matter Control slicer that came with the printer. Will start the back of the head and the rest of the helmet this weekend with Simplify3D and will test out some medium to low quality print settings to speed up the process a little more..

Any recommendations on Layer and infil percentages using this printer would be helpful. Want to keep some of the detail but definitely do not want to wait 2 days for a small print.

Hi

For infill %, don't go above 20% - you're just wasting plastic.

For speed/quality, I'm finding that the print orientation has a much bigger impact than layer height. For example, you printed the faceplate in one go, flat on the bed - As a result, the stepping between layers is clearly visible on the curve of the faceplate. If you split the model in two, and printed the faceplate close to vertical, there would be less stepping, and you should get a better looking print.

I'm still learning 3D printing, and am also attempting to print an Iron Man suit. I look forward you seeing your progress.