Vehicle Measurements - Includes Guns?

Waketrail

Hi there. I am new to the RPF. I've been looking for a community to join and I thought this one is probably the closest to what I've been looking for.

I've decide to try my hands at building a full custom model. I've been thinking of building a UT-AT from Star Wars Episode 3. Should be easy with all the flat panels.
There are some good pictures from the Star Wars wiki site. I don't know where they got them, but they are certainly clearer than the ones in the Star Wars Chronicle book. I've also been looking at the DeAgostini diecast vehicle. I better go buy one for reference.

My Questions

1. When the source (books and web) provides a Length measurement; does that include the guns sticking forward?

2. Why does Star Wars Canon have different measurement from Legend. Is Canon excluding the guns, antennas and other parts?

Thanks,
Andy

To address part of your question, the official Star Wars numbers are arbitrary and often nonsensical. I usually will study the model used on screen and figure out my own ideas for how big the thing is based on cues I find there. Turns out both X-Wings and TIE fighters are larger than the offical numbers, and A-Wings are smaller.

So, it doesn't really matter. Just go with what looks right.

--Alex

UTAT.jpgATTE-SWE.jpg

Looking at the AT-UT it seems to have the same gun on top (with a shorter barrel) and the same driver cabin as the AT-TE

If you have the Revell AT-TE kit or even an F-Toys AT-TE, you can scale it up or down based on measuring those areas.

I do have the Revell one (it is around 1/100 scale) I could take some measurements if needed

The AT-UT, a very interesting looking vehicle that gets little attention, I can't offer better advice than the above in terms of scale, but I'll be interested to see what you do with it :)