Bandai Snowspeeder - First model build in 20ish years

ggathergood

This is my first post here so please be gentle.

So I finally decided to do some modeling after my last crappy effort about 20 years ago. That was an MCP Millennium Falcon which I painted by hand and generally made a terrible job of. That is currently in pieces awaiting some much needed attention.

After buying the R2D2 and R5D4 from Bandai I was happy with the out of the box builds I decided to plunge into the vehicles knowing that there would be a lot more effort needed and that I would need to buy all the gear that goes with it. I have read a lot on this site and others about technique and process that people go through in their builds and wanted to have a go a doing something with a reasonable finish.I'll upload some of the pics I took and try to put notes on the steps.

I will add that this is my first time using an airbrush and compressor, my first time doing weathering and washes. I have not gone for screen accuracy, just something that looks ok with some of the modelling techniques I have read about.

I consider myself a beginner even though I did model building as a kid.

WP_20150929_20_30_00_Pro.jpg

This first thing I did was to use an airbrush for the first time. I was suprised at how easy it was to apply the paint. Such an amazing finish, I won't paint models with anything else.

I did the main body top and bottom plus the canopy with a mix of Tamyia XF-66 light grey and XF-2 flat white, about 4 parts white to 1 part grey. I pretty much went by eye to get a colour I was happy with. It initially had a blueish hue to the finish but I figured that would change with work later on.
WP_20150829_001.jpg