Doctor Strange - Eye of Agamotto

JovialJay

Hi everybody, thought I'd post some images of a prop replica I've been working on for Halloween 2015. It's the 'Eye of Agamotto' from the Doctor Strange comic book. I wanted to design something that was inspired from the comics, especially the Ditko/Englehart era, but I also wanted to not be bound by the designs. I saw a version by Joy Sutton Props that had some nice functionality that I liked and wanted to incorporate as well.

I started by making a design in Illustrator and looking around for several weeks to find things that might work to build the prop from. I looked for little round beads that would be the right size for the outside, but nothing seemed to work. I finally found a link to a company called Plastruct, that sells plastic hemispheres of varying sizes and decided that plastic would be the best option.

Eye01.jpgEye02.jpgEye04.jpgEye03.jpg

I decided to go with 12 domes around the outside edge, with the center Eye being the 13th, as that's a nice mystical number. Since I could buy the domes in lots of 5, I ordered extras in case I screwed up. Knowing that I would be using 3/4" hemisphere's and a 2 1/2" eye, that dictated the size for the Amulet backing, which was just just over 4".

I also knew I wanted to make an 'open' and a 'closed' eye. The closed one was pretty easy, but for the open eye, I knew I'd have to be trying several things I had never done. I was able to get a 2.5" dome and a 2.25 dome, both made from clear plastic, with the smaller one fitting inside the larger. Using my design as a starting point I figured out how much I wanted the 'open eye' to be open. I used string as a pattern to trace the line, which I then dremel-ed out from the larger dome.