Scratch Building Part of DeAg MF

Darwonka

I understand that asking this question of this community is like using a flamethrower to roast marshmallows..
(Since I'm really new to the hobby, I lurk like a creeper because I bring nothing to the table)

Scratch Building with Styrene.

I am recreating the bulkhead, opposite the "Navigation Computer" wall in the DeAgostini Millennium Falcon. I've gotten quite a few pieces from Shapeways previously, but I wanted to actually "create" something myself so I can expand my skill-set by doing something I've never done before.

What's needed, and what is completely screwing me up, is creating 5 matched pillars/ribs with a bit of an angle at the top and bottom.
The issue is: I can't for the life of me seem to be able to work the (rather thick) styrene effectively enough to make two identical ribs-let alone 5.

Now, mind you, I'm not looking for perfection. I'm looking for a similar curve and similar height. (With a flat cut edge!)

What I've tried:
Cutting with fresh blades. (scoring as much as possible then snapping-as I said, the styrene is pretty thick)
Angle Cutter (Not very good a "cutting", it scores part of the plastic well although)
Milling the parts with the Dremel
Sanding cut pieces to try to match (using: files, sanding sticks and/or flat sanding block)

I'm frustrated because I've got everything else/done for this part, or at least, figured out-It's just these darn upright ribs that are killing the build for me.

Anyone got any sage advice?

I'm grateful for the community!

Cheers!

- Dickie

Attachments

• interior11_zpsvi5f9fb5.jpg
    interior11_zpsvi5f9fb5.jpg
    418.9 KB · Views: 150
I would try to rough-cut the parts with 1mm margin, then clamp them together and use files to give them the final shape. If you clam them together strong enough, this will give you 5 identical pieces.