Doctor Who Weeping Angel Costume

Osi0485

I’m fairly new to Doctor Who, but thoroughly in love. I was originally thinking of going as Amy Pond for Halloween and was browsing image search results, trying to decide which outfit would be most recognizable, when I stumbled across an image of Amy facing down a pair of weeping angels. Eureka! Even if they don’t know the name, who hasn’t seen that creepy gif of the angel statue? I started researching Weeping Angel costumes, and began bookmarking anything that looked promising.

Here are previous builds from which I borrowed techniques:
Penwiper - Dress
http://www.therpf.com/f24/doctor-who-blink-weeping-angel-costume-49264/
Kilayi - Wings
http://www.therpf.com/f24/my-version-doctor-who-weeping-angel-image-heavy-101181/
Red5ive - Hair
http://www.instructables.com/id/Doctor-Who-Weeping-Angel/?ALLSTEPS
Marie - Bodysuit
http://www.celebrationgeneration.com/blog/2013/06/06/how-to-make-weeping-angel-costumes/
1414338190665.jpg
I started with the dress because sewing was the technique I was most comfortable with. I chose to sew the blouse and skirt separately in order to make it easier to pull over the harness for the wings. I bought cheap, white muslin and dyed it using iDye Silver Gray in my washing machine, which was much easier than I expected. The underskirt was a basic hoop skirt with a drawstring waist. I left an opening so I could remove the hoop for storage. Over this, I used 150% as much fabric to make the overskirt, tacking them together at the waist and hoop and letting the fabric fall in natural waves. I used drawstrings to pull the fabric of the blouse in where I wanted it before sewing it onto the shoulders. I then decided to replace the bottom drawstring with elastic to pull the bottom edge up to my natural waist and give it the draped appearance. Rather than sew in a full back panel, I chose to leave slits over the shoulder blades and close them with Velcro.