Skyrim Daedric Armor Build 10/27/2014

crashbryant

Hello All, This is the 1st post on my Skyrim Daedric foam armor. Be gentle with me folks. This is my first build ever. :) I went to Salt Lake Comic Con last September and caught the bug bad. So I started looking up Cosplay build methods and hello RPF!! Foam! Who would have thought? Still, I can't decide what to make...Star Wars?...nah...Halo...Maybe later...Something Different?....But what? Then I stumbled onto Boris Mzhen's build of Skyrim Daedric Armor. Holy crap!! Epic. So I contacted Boris and he is a rock star. He sent me the foam modified pepakura files and offered whatever help I needed. Here I will chronical my experiences. Let me know what you think.

P.S. I am a weekend warrior, so this build may take a while.

So I basically researched out everything I possible could about assembly, painting techniques, and materials.

I decided to make the helmet out of 5mm craft foam. I printed out the pepakura and cut them out, then pinned each piece onto the foam and traced it with a ball point pen. After that I cut the foam out with a X-Acto knife on the inside of the lines and started assembly. I saw alot of posts stating that hot glue is the way to go, but another post I saw from EvilFX said that Barge Contact Cement and foam are best friends. I went with Barge and it works awesome, the only drawback is that when you use a heat gun to shape the foam it can cause problems. Seams separate and you have to keep pressure so that is doesn't fall apart.Still it worked awesome and help like a champ.

Here is the photo of the initial assembly, I shaped the curves as I was going with an embossing gun that my wife had. BTW, the color of foam that you use does not matter. I used red so that I could see the outlines from the pen.

20141005_135300.jpg20141005_211820.jpg

More to come!!

Last edited: