Starkiller / Galen Marek lightsaber - real Graflex parts, titanium....finally done!!!

3Tripnip

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Well, it's finally done.....I finished my Starkiller / Galen Marek lightsaber from The Force Unleashed! I started drawing this in CAD in 2008, and went through 3 versions to finally get this one done. I based my replica off of the original reference picture seen below. I ended up using brass at the back end of the saber since that's what was used in the game.

saber_zps634f4b59.jpg

After a TON if iteration / prototyping / etc etc etc, it is done. :) Here's some of what I used:

-Original real Graflex top tube and clamp. Yes, REAL Graflex parts. :) Don't feel bad, they were pretty beat up.
-Raw polished natural ruby as the 'crystal'
-Machined / EDM titanium parts, machined aluminum, brass, and a few 3D printed parts
-Display case made by 'kodofett' (purchased in 2008 in prep for this saber getting done), laser cut acrylic stand arms
-Custom plaque made by 'feezlenuts' here on the board (does an AWESOME job by the way)

.....still need Sam Witwer's autograph though, but hopefully that'll be resolved early next year in Toronto.... :)

Here are some pics of the finished saber. Enjoy!

WP_20141006_002.jpg

WP_20141006_004.jpg

WP_20141006_005.jpg

WP_20141006_006.jpg

WP_20141006_007.jpg

WP_20141006_008.jpg

WP_20141006_010.jpg

WP_20141006_011.jpg

WP_20141006_012.jpg

Last edited:
Re: Starkiller / Galen Marek lightsaber - real Graflex parts, titanium....finally don

Looks great and I like the use of a real Graflex. pretty neat how you incorporated the clamp too. Great work and very cool!

Re: Starkiller / Galen Marek lightsaber - real Graflex parts, titanium....finally don

Very nice! Is it static or will you be adding electronics as well?

Very nice! Is it static or will you be adding electronics as well?

Thanks for the feedback! I'm all about static hilts. I've done a few with electronics, but I like doing static ones better. :)