Vacuum Chambers and Pressure Pots... Need some Advice :)

resinmodeller

Hi,

I wanted to pick peoples brains and feel free admins if this has been posted in the wrong forum to move it around. I couldn't find one that seemed to fit this subject.

Anyhow, I've been making and casting models for about two years using silicon rubber and easyflo120. The process was great for small kits (think the size of a micromachine - 2inchs) and now I've moved to models which are a little larger I'm starting to get pockets of air and the end result is producing a lot of flash (excess resin around the size or pockets of air) I've been scouring the internet for a remedy to the problem as I have a lot of kits ready to create moulds of, and I don't want to pay out for loads of resin and rubber only for the problems I'm currently faced with to persist.

The internet suggests using Vacuum Chambers and Pressure Pots to remove the o2 from the mixtures which is fine. But I started getting confused when people and youtube videos started using both methods to cast resin in rubber.

I don't know if people here have or know of the process and could enlighten me somewhat.

Essentially, I just need to know on the preferred process, a relatively cheap way of completing the process (I looked on eBay and £300+ for a chamber is crazy especially when you need to buy pumps and things on top) and just recommendations really. Just trying to understand it all.

The process I've read online (please feel free to correct if I'm wrong)

Make the rubber in a pot (which is approx. half full or rubber)
Place into a Vacuum Chamber and turn it on.
Air will be removed from the rubber (can cause it to expand or bubble for a time)
Pour rubber into premade mould.

Repeat the above for part B of the mould.

Place equal volume of Resin A and Resin B into Vacuum Chamber
Turn on and allow the air to be removed from both parts

Mix the two parts outside of the chamber until they're sufficiently mixed.