Foam Sealing and Painting Questions

Psikik

Hi all, first time posting. I'm building out an iron man suit with EVA foam. I got a couple test pieces I've been working with but I think I could use some pointers on sealing and glossing.

This first piece is sealed, plastidipped, primed and painted. I'm guessing that streak is from the sealing not working well? I applied a second layer of paint on this piece and the line is still there.

IMG_0250.jpg

This piece also has the gloss applied. But it came out dull and brownish. Any suggestions on possibly a different gloss spray or a technique?
IMG_0251.jpg

Here's a picture of my sprays:
IMG_0252.jpg

Thanks for any help.

im no pro but i have done a fair bit with foam.

in all honestly your streaks are probably from applying something too thick, you should take every stage stupidly slow to avoid any problems.
many fine layers are always better than less heavy ones, i know its exciting to finish something, but slow and steady is always best to avoid ruining a piece.
you should always examine closely between every stage too, rubbing down a layer if necessary.

on a side note, pva works a treat too if the plastidip gets expensive.

Second yishles, you have to do everything REALLY slow and in REALLY thin layers, otherwise it can ruin the whole thing. I always sealed with modpodge, but that takes forever. Good luck!

Thanks for the tips. I was using an Elmer's Glue/Water mixture to seal. I've switched to modge podge. Can I prime directly to the modge podge? Or do I need to plastidip it before priming?

Both modge podge or Elmers will work; How many coats PVa mix (Elmer's) did you put on? Eva can suck up a lot of sealer (and Plastidip, and paint), I usually put on at least 2 coats minimum.