New 52 Superman Suit Cosplay (Pic Heavy)

Superman0052

Hi, noob here. I've been planning on making Superman's suit from the New 52 comics. Some poeple seem to hate on it, but, though I am an avid Superman enthusiest and obssessionist lol, this is bar far the best adaptation of it in my opinion. Especially in the Superman Unchained run by Jim Lee. But, I digress. I've wanted to build this since the New 52 debuted but just have never had the money, becoming a new parent, nor the time. However, it has given me PLENTY of time to research different cosplay methods since this will be my first attempt at it. I finally have the expenses and time to build this, as well as a New 52 Wonder Woman suit for my wife, which I will start a new thread on as I begin the build, and we plan on attending Dragon*Con here in Atlanta Ga. If the suits come out good enough, we'll probably enter the group costume contest together.

As I said, this is my first attempt at costume building, so any tips or critique is more than welcome!

First off I plan on using a 1mm wetsuit as the base for this build. Alot of poeple use lycra/spandex for these superhero suits, but i just dont like the way the material looks and how thin it it. When I see Superman's suit in the New 52, I just imagine it as being a little bit thicker of a material. It is royal battle armor from Krypton, afterall. I will either pinch the material from the inside and sew an in-seem to create the recessed lines from the different sections of the armor, like Jim Lee's design in Unchained, or use raised piping, as seen in the suits Origin issue.

Last edited:
Re: New 52 Superman Suit

JL#2+New52+005.jpg
Here is a pic I found of the concept art from the new 52

wet suits can be very hot to wear you could always looking for a thicker Lycra Fabric and have a custome Suit made

I've thought about that, maybe matte miliskin? It was suggested to me. I just don't know how much it would cost. Hopefully no more than a wetsuit.