Tomb Raider Anniversay: SCION

JessieTR

Hello everybody! I am Jessie, I am new here and I would love to share the process of the scion from Tomb Raider Anniversary that I made for a friend in the Tomb Raider community!

Materials:

• Cardboard
  • Foam
  • Pen
  • Compass
  • Acrylic paint (metallic)
  • Glass paint
  • Varnish

First I printed the images and then drew copies of each piece of the scion.

00.jpg
1.JPG

Since it worked well, I transferred it to the cardboard. It was 2 layers of cardboard for each piece of the scion with foam sandwiched in between the layers of cardboard.

1a.jpg

I lined up all the pieces to test that it all fits together.

5.jpg

After sanding, I started painting. I made sure not to make it too flat because the idea was to keep the defects. After all, it is an ancient artifact! ;)

The basic painting:

3.jpg

On top of the base paint I pressed in the details into the card and before I finished it with the varnish, I used Glass paint in the grooves/details so I would get an embossed effect.

4.jpg
8.jpg

Once all the parts were ready, I glued it all together and added the green gems… Here it is the final Scion:

final.jpg

P.S.: I was thinking to make the 3 parts movable, but I couldn't find a strong enough magnet to hold it all securely together.

Nicely done.:thumbsup
I'm always a fan of TR props.

Later on you might want to try using sheet plastic like styrene, abs or even Sintra or Gator Board so you have something a bit stronger and easier to do detail work on.

Beautiful craftsmanship!
Subscribed - I'm keen to know if you'll experiment with using magnets to link it together. :thumbsup

Division 6 - I will try to find these materials here. But it is a problem! When I find it is really expensive! :/

Hotsam - I will! And I will post it if it works! ^^

Sara! Thanks! ^^

This thread is more than 9 years old.

Your message may be considered spam for the following reasons: