Uncharted 2 Shoulder Holster - My first replica prop project (Update: Completed!)

ricosgoo

I've been a huge fan of the Uncharted video game series for years now. I always thought Drake had the coolest shoulder holsters. Each game features a different design. I've always wanted one of my own and I've been doing research on and off for this project for the last couple of years. I found a lot of good information here, especially from RPF user Leatherworker. He's made a replica of each of the three holsters from the main three Uncharted games, as well as many other leather props.

So after putting it off for a long time and researching more and more, I finally decided to jump in and start trying to make my own replica. I chose to make the Uncharted 2 holster since that is my favorite of the series and it also seemed like it might be easier to make since it doesn't have the molded magazine holders. I have zero leather working experience so I expect to make many mistakes along the way. Hopefully I'll end up with a replica that I'm proud of.

Here are a couple of reference images of what I want to make:

Anniversary-Nathan-Drake-skin.jpg

The first thing I had to do was make a simple cast of my torso so I could easily work on this project and know that it will fit me when it's done. I made a simple cast by wrapping my torso in plastic wrap and then covering that in packing tape. I then cut it off and taped up the side when I was done. I built a simple stand for it out of spare PVC I had laying around from other projects.

IMG_20140223_152556201.jpg

Then I made a model out of paper and thin poster board to make sure the size and shape looked right.

CompareToInGame.png

IMG_20140313_123638761_HDR.jpg
IMG_20140313_123711707_HDR.jpg

Then I started cutting pieces out of leather.

IMG_20140308_111537696.jpg

For the stamp on the back plate I designed the NDI with an oval shape in Sketchup and then had a friend print it out on his 3d printer.

IMG_20140315_104444826.jpg