Mega Man Complete Build

SlyRedXIII

Hey everyone,

It's my first time posting here and I thought I would put up a build I did for Halloween last year. My friend decided to throw a Super Smash themed party and I decided to go as Mega Man. I had about a month to build it so it was a rushed build, but it was also my first complete costume (I've done a Tony Stark costume but that was just the glove and arc reactor so not the full suit). So I guess I'll start describing what I did:

I first started by downloading two pepakura files. They were the MegamanX Forearms and Helmet by aron42486 and Supermangat94. Both files were great but I wanted to go for the older Mega Man look with the square on the helmet so I cut out a piece of card stock and folded it to look like a box and then glued it to the top of the helmet.
photo 2.JPGphoto 1.JPG

Next thing I did was coat the two arm cannons and helmet in fiberglass resin to strengthen it. Since I was rushing I didn't have time to fill the inside of them with fiberglass cloth, coat them, and then dremel the excess. This wasn't my first time fiberglassing so of course I wore the proper safety equipment and I knew how to apply it. As I was waiting for these parts to dry I decided to move on to the other parts. I started with his feet first.
photo 3.JPGphoto 4.JPG
I used EVA foam from Lowe's for the feet and waist. It came in a roll and I think it was originally meant for putting it on the floor of a garage. Not the best type of foam but I had it laying around the house from previous builds and it did the job. Each foot consisted of three separate parts: the sole, the front half cone, and the back part.

The soles were easy because I basically put a shoe on the foam and drew an even larger shoe around it. Most of the foam pieces I cut out weren't measured and I just guessed the size. If it was too big I cut it down until it was the right size.