Are Eaglemoss Batmobiles too "cheaply made"?

Rodann

Sr Member
Hi guys. I posted this over at BOTB, and was wondering if my expectations were too high.......

I've been collecting Batmobiles since around 1994- starting with the cars I had since childhood (a near mint Corgi jr w/boat and 1:43 Corgi), and the figure cars from Kenner's then FOUR consecutive toy lines....

I've tried to stay away from Eaglemoss, because it's a bottomless pit.
laugh.gif
Too many and too expensive when all is said and done. But I'm suddenly obsessed. Now I HAVE to have them.
laugh.gif
I WAS getting a couple at a time at conventions for $20 a piece. I refused to pay more than that on ebay.

Lately, I've been buying more online, finding deals here and there. A recent purchase of five cars netted my first disappointment. The "The Batmman" car. It arrived with the bag torn, and clear case cracked.

But what's even more disappointing, is that the car came apart in a way that surprised me. Now, I had assumed that these cars were, in fact, "die cast", and by definition, were like any other die cast cars- metal bodies, rolling wheels, etc. These are obviously not that. They are more like glued-together statues. I didn't expect that, so it's a bit disappointing. I still intend to collect them, but after seeing guys complaining on their Facebook page about the "cheap plasticky appearance" of the newer cars, I thought this showed that they really ARE just that. Cheap and plasticky. Anyone else feel these should have been more like the Corgis, and not like the DC Direct statues?

Someone said their 1966 and 1989 Batmobiles' tires were stiff to turn. So they DID turn?? And now they don't? So they've aborted the "die cast car" and gone for the fully glued-together statue? Or did I just get one that somebody messed up?

Attachments

• 002.JPG
    002.JPG
    598.2 KB · Views: 209
  • 013.JPG
    013.JPG
    595.3 KB · Views: 226
  • 017.JPG
    017.JPG
    480.4 KB · Views: 189
  • 016.JPG
    016.JPG