pacific rim jaeger pilot helmet + more

Hi, This is my first time making my own thread or showing any of my work in depth. My images are limited because my camera wasn't available the entire time during the process of making things (so documentation is limited). I am new to building my own props and costumes, but have been lurking on this site for close to a year. So I will do my best to explain what i have so far. The goal is to have a finished pilot uniform from the opening scenes of pacific rim, the white costume worn by the lead as played by Charlie Hunnam.

Last edited:
okay so to start i'm going to show the first helmet i worked on, I started with images/stills from the movie trailer and re-created it to the best of my ability. later on i noticed my details where off, and i tried to improve my helmet. 100_0724.JPG100_0730.JPG100_0731.JPG100_0732.JPG100_0734.JPG100_0737.JPG

I made this out of eva foam, and used hot glue. I used a similar pattern then the ones being used by judge dredd helmets, but no actual specific pattern's where used. mostly it was measure and cut to try and get it right.

you can see i tried to make the plastic dome like in the movie, which proved to be difficult. here i used old plastic toy boxes and cut them to size. i had neca and marvel select ones i hadn't thrown out and they provided a lot of material.

okay so after watching the movie (i was able to get it done before the premier) i noticed a lot of things like texture and detailing. after doing some research i found a cool video on youtube which has been posted here before about how they made the suits and helmets. i got a better understanding about the whole thing and took a second stab at it. i tried to replace some of the foam parts with aluminum to give it the chrome effect it had on certain parts of it. DSC00018.JPGDSC00019.JPG

i used old beer cans the 40's since they have a larger size.