Witch King of Angmar / Nazgul Robe

SothaSil

Hello!

I've been checking out this forum for some time, but this is my first time posting :)

Anyways, I'm making a Witch King costume and I already made a few parts out of plastic, but I'll have to start working on the robes soon, and this is where I hit the wall....

I have never done anything with any form of textile, in fact I never made my own costume before. All I have done so far were plastic models and wooden aeroplanes. :)

Luckily (I hope) the WK robes don't require fine work, since they look so ragged and dirty, but I still have no clue how to make it...

So I was hoping I could get some tips from here, so my questions are:
-What type of fabric is cheap and still looks close enough to the movie version?
-Does anyone know of any kind of a guide on making robes? Preferably with a lot of pictures :)
-Does anyone have any templates they are willing to share? Or anything that could help me with the basic shape of the robe?
-What would be some easy techniques for making the robe look ragged and dirty?

And here is a pic of my finished helmet and gauntlets:

(I stuffed a black t-shirt with a pillow, just for the looks :) )

(It's a bit blurry, sorry)

I start off by drawing a 3D model in Blender, then unwraping the mesh, printing it out and then I make a paper model. Then if it doesn't turn out good enough I just redo the whole thing. Once the paper model is good enough, I move on to cardboard, and from there to plastic.

Every "metal" part is made out of plastic, I dont know what kind, since I got it for free. It was used for some exhibition and has been gathering dust in the attic since then. Its easily moldable when heated, and quite hard once cooled. The only thing I had to pay for so far was spray paint and glue. And I already had all of the tools, thanks to my previous hobies.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask :)

Last edited:
Hi, thanks for the reply.