Daft Punk Thomas Build

Flapjack

Hi All,
I am new to the prop building world. That being said, I need a little advice/direction on my current and second build. I have the helmet fiber glassed already, but I wanted to get the visor done before I do any bondo work on the outside. I cut out the fiber glass section and started using it as a template piece for heat bending the plexiglass. This is where I need the help: I need suggestions on how to get a good and smooth looking bend to the plexiglass. So far I've tried clamping one end to the fiber glass template and bending it with a heat gun, but I am having trouble getting a smooth consistent bend (i.e. there are weird straight parts on the ends but a good bend in the middle). Here is a picture of the mask before I removed the lens template piece, sorry not to have pics of the plexiglass piece so far, I will upload them tomorrow once I remember to take some.
1118131825d.jpg

Update:
So I’ve managed to fix the plexiglass bending problem for the most part… My thought on the next step is to permanently mount the tinting to the plexiglass (put a test stripe on temporarily to make sure the darkness on outside and visibility on the inside were ok). After, I was considering tacking it in place with hot glue then fixing it with silicone caulk to keep it sturdy long-term. Here is were I am looking for advice though, if I put in place earlier, I can tape off the lens and fill in any gaps with the lens and mask with bondo giving a clean finish. The negatives could involve the tinting peeling away later when I go to remove tape, or just general issues with sanding and painting.
Here are some pictures of the progress so far:
1129131404a.jpg
1129131404.jpg
1129131406.jpg
1129131406a.jpg

Last edited: