11th Doctor Sonic Screwdriver Help

bh1138

Hey everybody, this is my first post here and I'm looking for some advice. I'm interested in building the 11th Doctor's sonic screwdriver. I'd probably be perfectly happy with modding one of the toys as I don't have a huge budget, but there's just something about building it myself that I prefer. I'm sure you all relate. :) Anyway, I was wondering if anyone could show or describe the "opening mechanism", either in the toy or your own builds. I'm particularly interested in the claw section. I have an idea of how to do it, but I thought it would be a good idea to ask some experts and this looks like the right place to do so.

Let me be the first to say welcome. It's great to see new Who fans on here.:thumbsup

Now, about your request, you have several options out there. Some fairly simple (modding), to extremely difficult (machining from scratch). I'm no expert, & some others on here may chime in to fill in any blanks or correct me if I'm mistaken, but here's what I know.

If you're wanting a cheap, basic mod, There are several vids on YouTibe that show how to make the CO toy a little more accurate. Things like changing the button, getting rid of the spring-loaded mechanism, adding 'leather to the grip, filling in the hollow parts of the claws, & things like that. I've done this myself, & while time consuming, it usually yields good results if you take your time & don't rush. One bit of advice, watch SEVERAL of the tutorials before you decide which one you want to do. Some will be very clear, but the results will be a little lacking, while others will be hard to follow, but give you the best final product. This option will run you from $30-$50, depending on how involved you want to get.