Star Trek Into Darkness U.S.S. Enterprise Model Kit

Trekwars fan 82

Hey this is trekwars and I'll be documenting my build of the 1:500 enterprise kit from Revell of Germany. I'm fairly new to the RPF and I've been sitting back and admiring all the work that other modelers have done, especially on their own Enterprise kits. Now I've already put together a kit (actually in the final stages of completion) of the enterprise from the new movie, using the light kit from Evan's Lighting. But this time I've been encouraged to do a more detailed and documented build since I was going to make another one anyway. However, this time I'll be using the light kit from Evan's Lighting and the photoetch from Paragrafix, along with tweaking details they missed or left out when Revell produced the model.

My first step in documenting my progress was research all the light areas of the ship, which were far too many. For a ship design that I like, It's actually one of the things I hate about it------far too many lights. They should have kept the lighting comparatively simple, like the TOS movies. I think so far I've counted within a ballpark figure of 50 or so lit areas. If I'm mistaken please let me know. Anyway, to start the process I'll be borrowing stills of the enterprise from the blu ray inspection tour of Star Trek(2009).

First up, lighting on the top saucer section:
IMG_00612.jpg

Thanks, guys. Sorry it took me so long to get back to the updates. I'm in the middle of moving and still doing research with reference photos and collecting supplies like CA glue and strip styrene. But here is the rest of the lighting references.