TDK Full Batsuit Build [Pic Heavy], Templates Added!

DarthKnight

Hey Everyone,

I'm starting a thread to show the build progress on a project I have been working on. I have some experience with sculpting and artwork in general, and after seeing some of the props people are making on this forum I was really blown away. So I decided to start on my own project.. I have always been a life long batman fan, so it had to be a batsuit.

The goal is to build as close to a movie quality suit as I can from scratch. It is going to be the suit from TDK where batman jumps off the building in china. I'm gonna build the base jumping pack and the gun and hopefully it'l turn out something like this:

dark-knight-rises-hot-toys-1-4-2.jpg

Last edited:
Re: TDK Full Batsuit Build [Pic Heavy]

Here is the part I am working on now... The chest plate:

I wasn't really sure which way to go with this, I've seen people do carboard, foam, and I've also seen rubber casts available for purchase. I decided not to go with a rubber cast because it always seems to look kind of floppy. I also learned from an ironman helmet I am also working on that cured bondo is not fun to work with LOL. so I decided to shy away from a carboard one. In the end I decided to do another clay sculpt and attempt to make a fiberglass mold off of that which I will use to cast a fiberglass part. This should give me a nice hard chest plate in the exact form of my sculpt.

Right now I'm in the process of molding the chest plate so I should have pics of that up in a couple days! I think I am going to try and lay in some real carbon fiber for the lower inlays:

DarkKnightRises+Batman+emblem.jpg

Last edited:

Looks awesome, once you get the molds and casts, I would possibly be interested if you would be able to make more than 1, you would just have to give me a price. Im wanting to do the TDK for halloween this year.

Thanks Jason!