Half Life 2 HEV Suit - My first costume build!

Bob McCormick

I'm a long-time lurker, first time poster and I wanted to share with you guys my first in-progress costume build. I'm going to attempt to build Gordon Freeman's HEV suit from the game Half Life 2. Wish me luck folks, because I've never done this before and I have no experience building any kind of costume or anything similar. :)

Since this is my first build, and I'm not exactly flush with free time, I've been looking for any ways to simplify and make this faster/easier. I figure if I can at least complete this first build, I can always get fancier and explore more in-depth techniques on future projects.

To that end, I've decided to go with the Foam/Pepakura building method. From reading about other people's projects here on the RPF and on other forums, that sounds like it's the most "noob" friendly method to get started building costume armor. Hopefully that will end up being true!

As near as I can tell, there seems to be only one set of HEV suit Pepakura files out there, which are the ones used in the "Enter the Freeman" mini-movie. Am I correct that those are the only ones? Anyone found any other HEV Pep files?

HEV Pep files:

First (mis)steps - building the forearm bracer.

The first thing I started on was attempting to build one of the forearm bracers. I built it first out of card stock, then rebuilt it as a slightly simplified version out of foam. It was pretty much a disaster.

Here's a couple of photos of the unfortunate forearm bracer:
IMG_20130629_170610.jpgIMG_20130629_170730.jpgIMG_20130701_180645.jpg

As you can see, it looked like crap. :(

I did learn a few things though:

1. Glue sticks work much better than tape for building Pepakura models out of card stock. :$