Skyrim: Stalhrim Armor

ZoeAdvance

Hey RPF, this is my first time posting on this site, but I'm in kind of a pickle.

I'm a big fan of the Elder Scroll series, and once Skyrim launched Dragonborn with the Stalhrim armor option, I was pretty impressed. I think the entire set is beautiful, and I've been meaning to cosplay something from the Elder Scrolls for a while.

You see, I've been cosplaying for about 7 years now, and, in my opinion, I'm pretty darn good at it when it comes to outfits and sewing. However, I've never attempted a set of armor before. I have no idea where to even begin with something like this, though I'm more than willing to do as much as possible to make this look really good. I don't want to cut corners and end up with a really awful set of armor that looks like something slapped together in a few nights.

Deathbrand_Armor_-_Both.png

This is the set of armor in question. Unfortunately, I don't have a back view picture for you guys to reference. I was assuming that the underlayer that seems to be a quilted pattern will be an entirely separate garment all together, as will the gauntlets and the boots. Other than that, I'm utterly clueless.

What would be the best course of action here?

Welcome!

A lot of folks here get good results from pepakura and/or foam. Though the coloring of the armor is a bit odd, the shapes are simple enough that you should be able to do them out of steel/aluminum if you wanted.

Hiya!

Yay for more Skyrim armour builds :)
I can't give any concrete advice, but I'd definitely try either pepakura or foam as SmilingOtter suggested above, both methods can give very nice results, and there are mounds of threads around here giving great instructions.