Preparing to Build 1/350th USS Enterprise, I Have Some Questions...

Gimpdiggity

Master Member
Hello everyone!!! My name's Jeff, and this is my first post on the site!!

I found the site while researching information about the Polar Lights 1/350th scale USS Enterprise model.

I've recently found myself spending way too much money on my RC stuff. So much so that I need to cut some of my spending out, and find something else to do with my time other than buying and building/working on more RC stuff. So I decided I'd go back to something I used to love to do...building static model kits.

Thing is, I want something that's pretty large and would be nice to display in my media room. The Enterprise seems to be a really good option to fulfill both of those wants.

I was originally planning on going with the 2009 kit, the NCC-1701 A version.

Here's the thing, though. I would really like to put working lights on the model, and seeing as this is my first time building an Enterprise, I'd prefer if the lighting was available in a kit form that's already wired up and ready to go. Seeing as I'm pretty new to this, I haven't had much luck finding a lighting kit built specifically to go with the 1701 A.

This has led me to the idea of potentially spending a bit more money up front and getting the kit that came out in 2012 that features the Enterprise from TOS. If I were to go this route, it appears that Polar themselves (Round 2, I guess really) makes a lighting kit that has all of the lights that I would need in order to have the ship lit up pretty nicely.

I don't really mind doing it that way, but I kind of prefer the 1701 A, mainly because it's price point is lower to start out than the version from TOS.

So, I guess what I am wondering is if anyone can point me in a direction that would provide me a nice lighting kit that requires minimal modifying in order to use it on the 1701 A kit?? Or does something like this just not really exist?