Green Arrow's boxing glove arrow help

Yrien

Sr Member
I'm a (very) beginner costumer, and am a bit stuck on my Green Arrow costume. I've got a boxing glove (a red vinyl one sprayed green) and an arrow (a dowel) but am not sure how to go about attaching the two. Any suggestions are welcome!

But please keep in mind that I am very new at this and don't have a lot of tools and things immediately available to me, so simple solutions are likely to be the best.

Please excuse the matte parts on the glove - I sprayed one coat of the green but it didn't get into the creases/seams well, so I painted those portions with craft paint and will spray it again to even everything out.

DSC00825.jpg

DSC00827.jpg

Hmm, try wrapping something around the arrow head so it fits better inside the glove, maybe gluing a sock or something around it. Then continue to pad the glove so there is no room for it to easily pull out. Then for additional support wrap the end of the glove with a rubberband, rope, or something else to keep it on the shaft.

Thanks, sgtsparky22. I'll have to see what I have around the house. I'm sure I have a stray sock or a rag somewhere that I can appropriate for this!

WarDarkFox, the glove will be as it is in the second photo (mostly open). I'd have preferred closed, but I'm not sure how to get it into that position and keep it there! I do still have a second glove that I can play around with, though!

How about using spry foam? It will give the boxing glove some rigid structure and a place to set the arrow. this is the stuff I use
spray-foam-insulation-great-stuff-resized-600.jpg

Hmm well if you have another glove you could try using a glue gun/ superglue to keep the glove in a fist postition. Maybe a nice glob of glue, make it into a fist, and then wrap some rubber bands around it to keep its form while drying :confused

Sundowner, thanks for the spray foam suggestion - another friend thought that might work too. I guess I'll need to buy some!