My first build - custom light saber WIP (body complete bar final grip) - pic heavy

SuperFLY

Hi all,

I originally joined up to get some tips and ideas on building a custom lightsaber.

I've never built anything like this before, and have very limited tools (just a dremel, files, vice and a drill) but I thought 'why not' (famous last words) :D

Popped down the hardware store and bought a few random bits and pieces that looked good (and ended up not using most of it!! grr)

8656834973_1e0d3a5c9d_b.jpg

i bought a really cheap plastic lightsaber and ripped the sound board out of it, upgraded the speaker (you can see the original speaker in the pic - the green one) and upgraded a couple of other bits to improve the sound and power. works great :)

8656835971_59d58ae200_b.jpg

i then made my initial cuts and ended up with this

8656836711_7b1cd6b764_b.jpg

8657942078_766b5289ca_b.jpg

i was originally going to keep it mostly metal but looking at it i decided i didn't like that and started making some grips

8658507603_eed7ced39c_b.jpg

8659612172_2165572e4c_b.jpg

at this point i realised the saber was longer than i wanted. due to the internals the measurements got pushed out 3cm more than i wanted so i cut that down, reduced the grip size and trimmed the emitter a little. i also decided to actually do a design for it. it's not to scale and i did change things as i went but it did give me a good point to work from.

8669397129_55c0d64aca_b.jpg

after that came the building. covered the pipes in masking tape and made a couple of templates to work from. the mesh in the emitter is part of an old sieve

8670501548_65bfd3c9cb_b.jpg

8669398733_1612e1395c_b.jpg

8670502646_d84b090412_b.jpg

and started cutting! (gulp!)
8669399879_b24467618a_b.jpg

8670503692_f1c3dbe5e3_b.jpg