Help With Roxy's Sniper Rifle?

Dropkicks

Okay, so to keep things short, I am currently trying to get myself more into prop making. I've dabbled in it before, but I would really like to become more familiar with it as a whole.

So, I decided that I wanted to try and make a large scale gun. Roxy's Crockercorp Sniper rifle from Homestuck, to be specific.

Reference pictures:
Roxycrockersniper.png

tumblr_mddqavPSEa1rnpr1uo1_500.png

(You might recognize the gun as a recolored .308 DKS-501 sniper rifle from Fallout.)

Now, 27teacups has posted a lovely tutorial here: Roxy Sniper Rifle Tutorial

However, I am having some issues as there are quite a few things in it that I would be unable to do. Primarily sealing the gun with resin at the end.
I'm a college student, and things like powertools and sanders aren't really available to me. Though I can use things like sandpaper, hand held saws, etc.

So here's my questions: what is a good (and preferable cheap) way to seal the gun without using resin?

And what is a good way to construct the gun so that I may both take the barrel apart for transport, as well as keep it stable as possible? I plan to do as much of the construction in various foams as possible, so something that wouldn't melt the materials would be important as well.

Any advice that you have would be greatly appreciated! Thank you for your time.

I don't quite see what you intend to make this from, I think I saw something about foam?
If you're using blue or pink styrofoam, then good ol' PVA glue works a treat to seal it. For my Portal Gun, I used a 1:2 mix of PVA and water, and saturated the whole foam piece in the solution; once that was dry (after about 48 hours) I went back over it with a 1:1 mix of PVA/water, and then once THAT was dry I went into it with straight PVA. I doubt you need to be as excessive as I was, but it worked very well, and I was able to use a variety of solvents on it with no ill effects.
Hope this helps!