Sith Acolyte Costume WIP - My first time full costume build

Markandson

About four weeks ago I started building a Sith Acolyte armor. This is my first time full costume building – just for me and my first thread. It was the wish of my son Simon (10 years old) to accompany him to Star Wars Celebration this time in a “cool looking” costume. So according to him it had to be a Sith costume…

I hope to have the costume completed by July 26, 2013! My oh my…

Thank you very much, fierfek, for the great PEP files.

Although I am low on time I am trying to get the visible parts of the armor as accurately as it is possible to me.
I started with the mask. For this I tried to copy my head in a simple way

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

While we were thinking about the ornaments at the surface (like Adraas or somehow individual), Simon was surprised why the back of the head is unprotected. Therefore we started turning the mask into a helmet. As we found no pictures of an not hooded Acolyte, we just combined the mask with the back of an Iron Man helmet I builded long ago (Sharkmark VI - Iron Man - Helmet - Unfolded by Dubean33).

attachment.php

attachment.php

This is the stage I am at currently. I fibreglassed the inside and smoothed (prestoflex polyester fine filler) the outside.

Thank you for any advice!

Last edited:
I decided to cover the surface with an individual ornament.

20031312lwsli.jpg

20031314aqs1b.jpg

My ultimate 7 years old cutting "machine" - specialized in very small pieces...
(her demand: she helps me, when I will finish her Ashoka costume soon)

20031318x9s8w.jpg

What do you think about that?

200313174fsn7.jpg

200313210osgn.jpg

I like the idea that you made a mannequin of your head as well as using an iron man template for the rest of the helm. I used strips of posterboard and wrapped them around my head and taped them to fit.