Daft Punk TB Helmet WIP, FireWire Cast

DaLo

Hi Guys:)

I introduced myself already in the new member Thread, but for those who didnt read it here it is again: my name is Loris, 17 and from Zurich, Switzerland. I love all kind of props, Im pretty new in the cosplay scene. Right now Im building a Daft Punk helmet for a Cosplay event in Montreux. Cool thing is that Volpin will be there too Also I want to make more props in the future, but I want to buy casts an then finish them :p

This was my first build:

DaftCoke

And now Im making this

LED Display von DaftCH auf Flickr

Its the Thomas helmet from Daft Punk.

I bought this cast from FireWire

Fire Wire Cast von DaftCH auf Flickr

Fire Wire Cast, Ears and visor von DaftCH auf Flickr

The quality on this cast is amazing. First I thought it was a bit small, but after some trimming and sanding it finally fit.

Ears Trimmed and sanded von DaftCH auf Flickr

then I thought it would be cool if I could make a LED matrix for the helmet. But I soon realised that it is to difficult for me.

But then I got in contact with a guy named Sandisk1duo on the Daft Club Forum. He sells finished displays for FireWire casts. You really need to check out his work!

after that I had to trimm the visor area so that the LED Display could fit.

Right now I contacted two chromers who can do the cosmichrome process.
One of them told me that he'll be get some material fr the process at the end of february. So ow I contacted him to seeif he can get it done by the time the Polymanga starts. So stay tuned :)

Sorry for the double post, but I got some news from the chromers.

One guy wnated about 1000$ to chrome the helmet. Too much for me, as I can see that you can chrome the helmet in the US for just about 350$.
But the second guy told me that he can do the chroming on my helmet in time for the Polymanga 2013 :) Also he's cheaper than the other guy. I'll send him my helmet next week.