Space Ship interior set, advice needed. Please.

Popeanator

I'm currently planing on making a 3-4 part Sci-fi web series. I've helped to make sets in the past for school productions.

Would $1000 be enough to create a car sized Space Ship interior, maybe a little larger.
Planing on making it in a shed, getting some rubber coverings for the floor with a metal texture.

We are thinking of making the walls in segments with wheels, so we can move the walls in and out for more dynamic camera work.
Similar to the cockpit of the millennium falcon meets firefly.
It would have no roof we would just avoid shooting up.
Make it super dirty with lots of pipes an pieces attached to the walls. It is going to be repaired after it was crashed. So plenty of damage.
We were thinking of making a miniature for the exterior too.

Any advice on construction would be very useful and any other aspects. :)

Though I'm no expert on set construction, it would seem to me that the first place you should start would be with establishing the measurements of the size of your set and the materials that you will want to use. There's a great deal of 'homework' that you should do, and I think that your question is far to general and broad to pose at this point. However, it shouldn't be too difficult to determine the budget that you'd need for what you'd want to build once you determine the finer points of your project.

2cents.gif

What he said.....and Monster Dave and me wont to be actors in a sci fi film as well....lol

anything can be done budgeting if plans for materials , is the biggest thing...there are so many ways to make sometihng , considering the levels you are looking for with detail , always comes at a higher price, I think.....dont really have much info to go on, but with the right people and abilities, I think it may be very possible to construct something like that from plastics and plywood....JMO

Hi P,